## CHRONOLOGY

- 1848.—Opening of Navigation of St. Lawrence Canals.
- 1849.—April 25, rioting in Montreal over passing of Rebellion Losses Bill. Vancouver Island made a Crown colony.
- 1850.—Clayton-Bulwer Treaty.
- 1851.—Responsible government goes into effect in Prince Edward Island.
- 1852.—Commencement of Grand Trunk Railway.
- 1854.—Abolition of Seigniorial Tenure in Lower Canada; settlement of Clergy Reserves question. June 5, Reciprocity Treaty with United States.
- 1855.—March 16, Reciprocity Treaty with U.S. comes into effect. Incorporation of City of Ottawa.
- 1858.—Adoption of decimal currency.
  Ottawa selected by Queen
  Victoria as capital of the
  Dominion. Parliamentary
  government established in
  British Columbia. April,
  discovery of gold in British
  Columbia.
- 1860.—September 1, corner stone of Parliament Buildings at Ottawa laid by the Prince of Wales.
- 1861.—Prince Edward Island Land Commission.
- 1863.—Separate School Act (Canada).
- 1864. September, Convention at Charlottetown on Union of Maritime Provinces; October
   10, adjourned to Quebec to consider Union of all British North American provinces.
- 1865.—February 3, resolution of Legislature for address to Her Majesty praying that act may be passed for the Union of the B.N.A. provinces. October, transfer of seat of government from Quebec to Ottawa.
- 1866.—March 17, termination of Reciprocity Treaty by the United States. May 31, invasion of Canada by Fenians. June 8, the Legislature of Canada meets in new Parliament Buildings at Ottawa. August 11, address to Her Majesty the Queen, embodying resolutions providing for

- the local governments and legislatures of Lower and Upper Canada, respectively, under proposed Union of B.N.A. provinces. November 17, Union of Vancouver Island with British Columbia.
- 1867.—February 10, passing of British North America Act. July 1, Proclamation of the Union; Dominion Day established.
- 1868.—April 7, assassination at Ottawa of D'Arcy McGee. July 31, Rupert's Land Act.
- 1869.—Red River Rebellion.
- 1870.—May 11, purchase by Dominion of Hudson's Bay Company's rights in Rupert's Land, £300,000. July 15, addition to the Dominion of the Northwest Territories and creation of new province of Manitoba. September 24, arrival at Fort Garry of Col. Wolseley's expedition. Collapse of Rebellion.
- 1871.—May 8, Treaty of Washington.
  July 20, admission of British
  Columbia to Confederation.
- 1873.—July 1, admission of Prince Edward Island to Confederation.
- 1875.—A Lieut.-Governor appointed for Rupert's Land and the Northwest Territories.
- 1876.—Opening of the Intercolonial Railway from Quebec to Halifax. Establishment of Royal Military College at Kingston.
- 1877.—First exportation of wheat from Manitoba to Great Britain.
- 1878.—November, arrival of Marquis of Lorne as Governor-General accompanied by H. R. H. Princess Louise.
- 1879.—Adoption of the "National Policy."
- 1880.—British possessions on the North American continent annexed to Canada. May 11, first High Commissioner for Canada appointed (Sir A. T. Galt). May 10, death of Hon. George Brown.
- 1881.—May 2, first sod turned of Canadian Pacific Railway.
- 1882.—May 8, Provisional Districts of Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Athabasca created.